Second World War: the Falaise-Chambois Pocket, land of memory

June 6, 1944 begins the Battle of Normandy. It remains to this day one of the greatest military operations of the Second World War, and de the story. Eit will end in the hell of the fights Pocket of Falaise-Chambois, after 3 months of fierce struggle.

The fate of civilian populations: an untold story of the Second World War

The historical narrative of the Second World War, written by the victors and imbued with military heroism, has long obscured a major aspect of our contemporary history. Indeed, with 35 million civilian deaths for 30 million soldiers, the civilian populations are the first victims of the Second World War. This finding, hitherto unpublished, will then become the rule for all contemporary armed conflicts.

Normandy also paid the tribute of this liberation which marked forever its landscapes but also its inhabitants. In fact, 20 Normans lost their lives following the fighting in the summer of 000, mainly in the bombardments of cities.

It is this story on a human scale that the Falaise Memorial, a one-of-a-kind museum dedicated to the daily life of civilians in Normandy and around the world during the Second World War.

Falaise Memorial

Closed

The Falaise Memorial – The Civil War
William the Conqueror Square
14700 FALAISE

+ 02 31 06 06 45

Calculate my route

The Falaise-Chambois Pocket: the beginning of the end

A strategic objective, the town of Falaise was hit on June 7, 1944. Like its country, it too suffered heavy losses. Liberated on August 17, 1944, the city will once again leave its name in history through one of the major sequences of the Battle of Normandy: the Pocket of Falaise-Chambois.

It was there, east of Falaise, that between August 18 and 21, 1944, the fate of the German army was sealed. Surrounded and routed, its retreat thus opens the way to the Liberation of France and Europe.

Symbolized by the martyrdom of the German armies and the heroism of the Polish troops, this battle has gone down in history as one of the most terrible. On a visit to the site, General Eisenhower will describe it as:

“One of the greatest kills of the war” – Dwight D. Eisenhower

Montormel Memorial

Closed

Montormel Memorial
3 Memorial Road
61160 MONT ORMEL

+ 02 33 67 38 61

Calculate my route

Seconde Guerre mondiale : la Poche de Falaise-Chambois, terre de Mémoire

Le 6 juin 1944 débute la Bataille de Normandie. Elle reste encore à ce jour l’une des plus grandes opérations militaires de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, et de l’Histoire. Elle prendra fin dans l’enfer des combats de la Poche de Falaise-Chambois, après 3 mois de lutte acharnée.

Le sort des populations civiles : une histoire inédite de la seconde guerre mondiale

Le récit historique de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, écrit par les vainqueurs et empreint d’héroïsme militaire, a longtemps occulté un aspect majeur de notre histoire contemporaine. En effet, avec 35 millions de morts civils pour 30 millions de militaires, les populations civiles sont les premières victimes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ce constat, inédit jusqu’alors, deviendra ensuite la règle pour tous les conflits armés contemporains.

La Normandie a elle aussi payé le tribut de cette libération qui a marqué à jamais ses paysages mais aussi ses habitants. Ce sont en effet 20 000 Normands qui perdirent la vie suite aux combats de l’été 1944, principalement dans les bombardements des villes.

C’est cette histoire à taille humaine que vous propose d’aborder le Mémorial de Falaise, un musée unique en son genre, dédié à la vie quotidienne des civils normands et du monde entier pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Mémorial de falaise

Fermé

Le Mémorial de Falaise – La Guerre des Civils
Place Guillaume le Conquérant
14700 FALAISE

02 31 06 06 45

Calculer mon itinéraire

La Poche de Falaise-Chambois : le début de la fin

Objectif stratégique, la ville de Falaise sera touchée dès le 7 juin 1944. À l’image de son pays, elle subit elle aussi de lourdes pertes. Libérée le 17 août 1944, la ville laissera une fois de plus son nom dans l’histoire à travers l’une des séquences majeures de la Bataille de Normandie : la Poche de Falaise-Chambois.

C’est là, à l’Est de Falaise, qu’entre le 18 et le 21 août 1944 fut scellé le destin de l’armée allemande. Encerclée et en déroute, son recul ouvre ainsi la voie de la Libération de la France et de l’Europe.

Symbolisée par le martyre des armées allemandes et l’héroïsme des troupes polonaises, cette bataille est restée dans l’Histoire comme l’une des plus terribles. En visite sur place, le Général Eisenhower la décrira d’ailleurs comme :

« L’une des plus grandes tueries de la guerre » – Dwight D. Eisenhower

Mémorial de Montormel

Fermé

Mémorial de Montormel
3 route du Mémorial
61160 MONT-ORMEL

02 33 67 38 61

Calculer mon itinéraire