From the tenth century, the medieval town of Falaise enjoys a privileged status of ducal residence to which it will owe its prosperity. Symbol of this power, the medieval castle founded at the end of the rocky outcrop dominates the surroundings with majesty.

the medieval Falaise castle, residence of the dukes of normandy

The medieval castle of Falaise is one of the largest castle enclosures in Europe. It shelters in its high court the fortified habitat of the descendants of the Anglo-Norman dynasty. The castle alone is an open book on the whole history of medieval Normandy. Indeed, if nothing now remains of the original building which saw the birth of William the Conqueror, the current visit to the site allows visitors to discover not one but three dungeons! A unique site and visit to Normandy!

the visit of the château guillaume-le-conquérant, a historic experience!

Thanks to the touch tablets provided at the start of the visit, discover the interiors of the dungeons in virtual reconstruction and enter into the intimacy of the illustrious characters who made the history of this formidable stronghold.

From the small keep to the Aula, passing by the impressive Talbot Tower, explore the different spaces and meet the great figures who left their mark on the Anglo-Norman domain. Dukes of Normandy, descendants of William the Conqueror and kings of France: listen to the highlights of their adventures.

The favorite monument of the French

Finalist of the program Le Monument Préféré des Français in 2021, the Château de Falaise climbed the steps of the podium by rising to second place in the competition, thus making it the favorite castle of the French.

animations to go back in time

Throughout the year, many events complete the permanent scenography. The mediators of the castle offer guided tours during weekends and school holidays.

Occasional events such as Pierres en Lumières or the European Heritage Days bring the area back to life several times a year.

In August, these are the Medievals of Falaise, a real highlight of the season, which takes the whole town back to the Middle Ages. For a weekend, re-enactment companies and medieval stalls restore the medieval city to its former glory.

And finally, in December, it is a storytelling exhibition with life-size decorations that adorns the interior of the dungeons. Something to make young and old dream during the end of year celebrations.

Opening time

DatesSchedules
From February 5 to July 8Every day from 10h to 18h
From July 9 to August 28Every day from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m.
From August 29 to December 31
(closed on November 3, 4 and 5, December 25 and January 1)
Every day from 10h to 18h

Prices

Type Price
Basic price – Adult Full price 8,50 €
Child rate 4 €
Family rate 21 €
Reduced price 6 €

to get there

Closed

William the Conqueror's Castle
William the Conqueror Square
14700 FALAISE

+ 02 31 41 61 44

Calculate my route

Falaise discovery pass

Visit the three unmissable sites of the birthplace of William the Conqueror thanks to the Falaise Discovery Pass, on sale exclusively at the Tourist Office for the single price of €49!

Pass découverte de Falaise

Dès le Xe siècle, la cité médiévale de Falaise bénéficie d’un statut privilégié de résidence ducale à qui elle devra sa prospérité. Symbole de cette puissance, le château médiéval fondé à l’extrémité de l’éperon rocheux domine les alentours avec majesté.

le château médiéval de falaise, résidence des ducs de normandie

Le château médiéval de Falaise est l’une des plus grandes enceintes castrales d’Europe. Il abrite dans sa haute cour l’habitat fortifié des descendants de la dynastie anglo-normande. À lui seul, le château est un livre ouvert sur l’ensemble de l’histoire de la Normandie médiévale. En effet, s’il ne reste désormais rien du bâtiment originel qui vit naître Guillaume le Conquérant, la visite actuelle des lieux permet aux visiteurs de découvrir non pas un mais bien trois donjons ! Un site et une visite uniques en Normandie !

la visite du château guillaume-le-conquérant, une expérience historique !

Grâce aux tablettes tactiles remises en début de visite, découvrez les intérieurs des donjons en reconstitution virtuelle et entrez dans l’intimité des illustres personnages qui ont fait l’histoire de cette redoutable place forte.

Du petit donjon à la Aula, en passant par l’impressionnante Tour Talbot, parcourez les différents espaces et rencontrez les grandes figures qui ont marqué de leur empreinte le domaine anglo-normand. Ducs de Normandie, descendants de Guillaume le Conquérant et rois de France : écoutez les faits marquants de leurs aventures.

Le monument préféré des français

Finaliste de l’émission Le Monument Préféré des Français en 2021, le château de Falaise a gravi les marches du podium en se hissant à la deuxième place du concours, faisant ainsi de lui le château préféré des français.

des animations pour remonter le temps

Tout au long de l’année, de nombreuses animations viennent compléter la scénographie permanente. Les médiateurs du château proposent des visites guidées durant les week-ends et vacances scolaires.

Des évènements ponctuels tels que Pierres en Lumières ou les Journées Européennes du Patrimoine redonnent vie aux lieux plusieurs fois par an.

En août, ce sont les Médiévales de Falaise, véritable temps fort de la saison, qui replongent toute la ville au Moyen Âge. Le temps d’un week-end, compagnies de reconstitution et échoppes médiévales font retrouver à la cité médiévale de sa superbe.

Et enfin, en décembre, c’est une exposition contée aux décors grandeur nature qui vient habiller l’intérieur des donjons. De quoi faire rêver petits et grands pendant les fêtes de fin d’année.

Horaires d’ouverture

DatesHoraires
Du 5 février au 8 juilletTous les jours de 10h à 18h
Du 9 juillet au 28 aoûtTous les jours du 10h à 19h
Du 29 août au 31 décembre
(fermé les 3, 4 et 5 novembre, les 25 décembre et 1er janvier)
Tous les jours de 10h à 18h

Tarifs

Type Tarif
Tarif de base – Adulte Plein tarif 8,50 €
Tarif enfant 4 €
Tarif Famille 21 €
Tarif réduit 6 €

pour s’y rendre

Fermé

Château Guillaume Le Conquérant
Place Guillaume Le Conquérant
14700 FALAISE

02 31 41 61 44

Calculer mon itinéraire

pass découverte de falaise

Visitez les trois sites incontournables de la cité natale de Guillaume le Conquérant grâce au Pass Découverte de Falaise, en vente exclusivement à l’Office de Tourisme au tarif unique de 49 € !

Pass découverte de Falaise