Lhas fame from medieval city of Falaise and its castle no longer to do. Idoes it existhowever a place, more confidential, which played a determining role in the history of Normandy: the fountain of Arlette! It was at this fountain that Robert the Magnificent, then Duke of Normandy, saw Arlette for the first time, who would then become the mother of the illustrious William the Conqueror.

Fontaine d'Arlette

The Arlette fountain: the origins of William the Conqueror 

Robert the Magnificent, then Duke of Normandy, enjoyed spending time in the medieval city of Falaise. Legend has it that it was during a stay in the fortified town, on his return from a hunting trip, that he saw Arlette for the first time, daughter of a furrier merchant. He would have fallen madly in love with her the moment he noticed her laundering her laundry at the fountain in Val d'Ante.

Although married, Robert will bring Arlette to his castle. This one will accept but will however require to enter on horseback and through the front door!

During their first night together, Arlette will be awakened by a dream. She saw there a tree coming out of her body and rising very high towards the sky. She will assure Robert that the shade of this tree covered all of Normandy. The latter will then see it as a happy omen. A few months after that night, a child will be born. The young duke will then name him Guillaume, nicknamed the Bastard. 

The fountain today

Fontaine d'Arlette dans le Val d'Ante à Falaise

By borrowing the Circuit of the Ramparts, you can discover this emblematic place of Falaise. Restored in the 50s, a fresco evokes the meeting between the parents of William the Conqueror. Robert the Magnificent, perched on his horse, observes Arlette there, while she washes her laundry in the company of other young ladies.

A true romantic story or legend, the Fontaine d'Arlette is now an integral part of Norman history. Many visitors flock every year to come and admire it.

to get there

The fountain of Arlette
Place called the Val d'Ante
14700 FALAISE

+ 02 31 90 17 26

Calculate my route

La renommée de la cité médiévale de Falaise et de son château n’est plus à faire. Il existe toutefois un lieu, plus confidentiel, qui a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’histoire de la Normandie : la fontaine d’Arlette ! C’est à cette fontaine que Robert le Magnifique, alors duc de Normandie, aperçut pour la première fois Arlette, qui deviendra alors la mère de l’illustre Guillaume le Conquérant.

Fontaine d'Arlette

La fontaine d’Arlette : aux origines de Guillaume le Conquérant 

Robert le Magnifique, alors duc de Normandie, aimait passer du temps dans la cité médiévale de Falaise. La légende raconte que c’est lors d’un séjour dans la ville fortifiée, à son retour d’une partie de chasse, qu’il aurait aperçu pour la première fois Arlette, fille d’un marchand pelletier. Il en serait tombé éperdument amoureux dès l’instant où il l’aurait remarqué blanchissant son linge à la fontaine du Val d’Ante.

Bien que marié, Robert fera venir Arlette dans son château. Celle-ci acceptera mais exigera toutefois d’entrer à cheval et par la grande porte !

Au cours de leur première nuit d’union, Arlette sera réveillée par un songe. Elle y voyait un arbre sortir de son corps et monter très haut vers le ciel. Elle assurera à Robert que l’ombre de cet arbre recouvrait toute la Normandie. Ce dernier y verra alors un heureux présage. Quelques mois après cette nuit, un enfant verra le jour. Le jeune duc le nommera alors Guillaume, surnommé le Bâtard. 

La fontaine aujourd’hui

Fontaine d'Arlette dans le Val d'Ante à Falaise

En empruntant le Circuit des Remparts, vous pourrez découvrir ce lieu emblématique de Falaise. Restauré dans les années 50, une fresque y évoque la rencontre entre les parents de Guillaume le Conquérant. Robert le Magnifique, juché sur son cheval, y observe Arlette, tandis qu’elle lave son linge en compagnie d’autres demoiselles.

Véritable histoire ou légende romantique, la Fontaine d’Arlette fait aujourd’hui partie intégrante de l’histoire normande. De nombreux visiteurs se pressent d’ailleurs chaque année pour venir l’admirer.

pour s’y rendre

La fontaine d’Arlette
Lieu dit le Val d’Ante
14700 FALAISE

02 31 90 17 26

Calculer mon itinéraire