Distance: 3.5 km
Duration: 01h30 (UTC -XNUMX:XNUMX)
Falaise
Built on a rocky outcrop offering it natural protection, the city of Falaise owes its growth from the 2th century to its status as the residence of the first Dukes of Normandy. It quickly became one of the most important strongholds in Normandy, protected by an imposing defense system. At its height, 50 km of ramparts, 6 towers and XNUMX fortified gates ensured its protection. Discover the medieval past of Falaise during an exceptional walk through the alleys of the old town.

Walking

Built on a rocky outcrop offering it natural protection, the city of Falaise owes its growth from the 2th century to its status as the residence of the first Dukes of Normandy. It quickly became one of the most important strongholds in Normandy, protected by an imposing defense system. At its height, 50 km of ramparts, 6 towers and XNUMX fortified gates ensured its protection.

Discover the medieval past of Falaise during an exceptional walk through the alleys of the old town.

Your itinerary

Map List

Falaise

Built on a rocky outcrop offering it natural protection, the city of Falaise owes its growth from the 2th century to its status as the residence of the first Dukes of Normandy. It quickly became one of the most important strongholds in Normandy, protected by an imposing defense system. At its height, 50 km of ramparts, 6 towers and XNUMX fortified gates ensured its protection.

Discover the medieval past of Falaise during an exceptional walk through the alleys of the old town.
1

Step 1

Go along the town hall on the left and take the path on the right under the footbridge between the town hall and the Château. You reach the alley of the Brasserie, go down to the left. At the bottom, cross the rue de la Roche and go up towards the panoramic route.
2

Step 2

Go along the scenic route to the right. walk down to the campground entrance. Take left, in the row of houses, the alley of Palis. At the intersection, continue to the right. At the end, go down the path to the right and turn left into rue du Moulin Bigot towards the lake. Turn right and go up Rue des Herforts. Go past the Porte des Cordeliers.
3

Step 3

At the top, cross the avenue d'Hastings and go down on the left. Take the path on the right which joins the Chemin des Oliviers. Continue to the Saint-Laurent church. Take the right. At the stop sign, continue straight.
4

Step 4

Climb the Côte Saint-Laurent. At the top, go through Porte Lecomte and at the fork, follow Rue du Sergent Goubin. Place Fontaine Borne, turn right on rue Gambetta. Go around the Saint-Gervais church. Cross rue de Caen and place du Docteur Paul German, and take rue de la Pelleterie.
5

Step 5

At the end of Place Belle-Croix, turn right and continue left on rue Trinité. At the crossroads, cross over and take the passage at n°7 rue Rollon. Go through rue Dessous l'Arche to the Sainte-Trinité church. Follow the lane to the right towards Place Guillaume-le-Conquérant.

Distance : 3.5 km
Durée : 01h30

Construite sur un éperon rocheux lui offrant une protection naturelle, la cité de Falaise devra son essor dès le Xe siècle à son statut de résidence des premiers ducs de Normandie. Elle devient rapidement l’une des plus importantes places fortes de Normandie protégée par un imposant système de défense. À son apogée, 2 km de remparts, 50 tours et 6 portes fortifiées assureront sa protection.

Partez à la découverte du passé médiéval de Falaise au cours d'une balade exceptionnelle à travers les ruelles de la vieille ville.

Votre itinéraire

Falaise

Construite sur un éperon rocheux lui offrant une protection naturelle, la cité de Falaise devra son essor dès le Xe siècle à son statut de résidence des premiers ducs de Normandie. Elle devient rapidement l’une des plus importantes places fortes de Normandie protégée par un imposant système de défense. À son apogée, 2 km de remparts, 50 tours et 6 portes fortifiées assureront sa protection.

Partez à la découverte du passé médiéval de Falaise au cours d'une balade exceptionnelle à travers les ruelles de la vieille ville.
1

Étape 1

Longez la mairie par la gauche et empruntez le sentier à droite sous la passerelle entre l'hôtel de ville et le Château. Vous rejoignez la venelle de la Brasserie, descendez à gauche. En bas, traversez la rue de la Roche et remontez vers la voie panoramique.
2

Étape 2

Longez la voie panoramique à droite. descendez vers l'entrée du terrain de camping. Empruntez à gauche, dans la rangée de maisons, la venelle des Palis. À l'intersection, continuez à droite. Au bout, descendez le chemin à droite et prenez à gauche la rue du Moulin Bigot vers le plan d'eau. Prenez à droite et montez la rue des Herforts. Passez devant la porte des Cordeliers.
3

Étape 3

En haut, traversez l'avenue d'Hastings et descendez sur la gauche. Prendre la sente à droite qui rejoint le chemin des Oliviers. Poursuivez jusqu'à l'église Saint-Laurent. Prenez à droite. Au stop, continuez tout droit.
4

Étape 4

Montez la côte Saint-Laurent. En haut, passez la porte Lecomte et à la fourche, suivez la rue du Sergent Goubin. Place Fontaine Borne, prenez à droite rue Gambetta. Contournez l'église Saint-Gervais. Traversez la rue de Caen et la place du Docteur Paul German, et empruntez la rue de la Pelleterie.
5

Étape 5

Au bout de la place Belle-Croix, prenez à droite et poursuivez à gauche rue Trinité. Au carrefour, traversez et prenez le passage au n°7 de la rue Rollon. Passez par la rue Dessous l'Arche de l'église Sainte-Trinité. Suivez la ruelle à droite vers la place Guillaume-le-Conquérant.