In an immense park, 3 gardens follow one another: a French garden, a utility garden and in the middle of luxuriant vegetation the "surprise" water gardens, hidden among the groves and fancy constructions (temple, kiosk, waterfall, labyrinth…). Seashell grotto. The French gardens, created in the middle of the 18th century, accompanying the construction of the castle, were transformed into a landscaped park in the 19th century.

The park was restored from 1970. Guy de Vendeuvre was inspired by 18th century plans, simplifying them and completing them with creations on the theme of water and topiary. Topiary at the front, the garden has a suspended water mirror at the back, bordered by linden arbors. From the terrace overlooking boxwood beds, fountains and water jets, you can see beyond the meadows of the Dives valley, the hills of the Pays d'Auge.

In the gardens of Vendeuvre, near the Grotto, you will discover two labyrinths: a regular labyrinth and an irregular labyrinth also called the labyrinth of the fields, where a little rabbit is hiding there. Bordering the paths, citrus fruits arranged in pots are spaced out by fig trees in espalier along the walls. As you approach the waterfall, you will spot a collection of succulents and papyrus. Near the greenhouse and along the house grow jasmines with intense scents. on the mound, in the shade, southern ferns, melanthes, grasses and bamboos are sheltered from the prevailing winds. Banana trees, palm trees and yuccas complete this immersion in exoticism.

Perpendicular to the cooler, an alley leads between two labyrinths of boxwood to the "pleasure garden" devoted to water in all its forms: Islands, waterfalls, streams, are surrounded by hundred-year-old trees coexisting with a young arboretum.

Opportunity to visit the castle and the museum of miniature furniture. Duration of the free visit: 1h30.

Visit

Visit languages

  • French
  • English

Opening

From 01 April to 31 October
Monday Open from 14 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Tuesday Open from 14 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Wednesday Open from 14 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Thursday Open from 14 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Friday Open from 14 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Saturday Open from 14 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Sunday Open from 14 a.m. to 18 p.m.

Prices

Type Price
Base rate - Full rate adult 10 € - 13,50 €
Child rate 8 € - 11 €
Annual pass 27 €
Basic price - Full price adult: from €10.00 to €13.50 Child rate: from 8.00 € to 11.00 € Annual pass: €27.00

Payment method

  • Credit card
  • Payment cards
  • French bank and postal checks
  • French "Chèques vacances"
  • Cash
  • Contactless payment
  • Visa

Services

Equipments

  • Family car park
  • Outdoor games
See more

Services

  • Shop
See more

Dans un parc immense, 3 jardins se succèdent : un jardin à la française, un jardin d’utilité et au milieu d’une végétation luxuriante les jardins d’eau « surprises », dissimulés parmi les bosquets et les constructions de fantaisie (temple, kiosque, cascade, labyrinthe…). Grotte aux coquillages. Les jardins à la française, créés au milieu du 18ème siècle, accompagnant la construction du château, ont été transformés en parc paysager au 19ème siècle.

Le parc a fait l'objet d'une restauration à partir de 1970. Guy de Vendeuvre s'est inspiré des plans du 18ème siècle, en les simplifiant et les complétant par des créations sur le thème de l'eau et du topiaire. Topiaire à l'avant, le jardin comporte à l'arrière un miroir d'eau suspendu, bordé de charmilles de tilleuls. A partir de la terrasse dominant des parterres de buis, des fontaines et des jets d'eau, on aperçoit au-delà des prairies de la vallée de la Dives, les collines du Pays d'Auge.

Dans les jardins de Vendeuvre, près de la Grotte, vous découvrirez deux labyrinthes : un labyrinthe régulier et un labyrinthe irrégulier appelé aussi labyrinthe des champs, où un petit lapin s'y cache. Bordant les allées, des agrumes disposés en pot sont espacés par les figuiers en espalier le long des murs. En s’approchant de la cascade, vous apercevrez une collection de succulentes et papyrus. Près de la serre et le long de la maison, poussent des jasmins aux odeurs intenses. sur la butte, à l’ombre, fougères australes, mélianthes, herbes et bambous sont abrités des vents dominants. Bananiers, palmiers et yuccas complètent cette immersion dans l’exotisme.

Perpendiculairement à la glacière, une allée conduit entre deux labyrinthes de buis au « jardin de plaisir » consacré à l'eau sous toutes ses formes : Iles, cascades, ruisseaux, sont entourés d'arbres centenaires coexistant avec un jeune arboretum.

Possibilité de visiter le château et le musée du mobilier miniature. Durée de la visite libre : 1h30.

Visite

Langues visite

  • Français
  • Anglais

Ouverture

Du 01 Avril au 30 Juin
Lundi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Mardi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Mercredi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Jeudi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Vendredi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Samedi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Dimanche Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Du 01 Juillet au 31 Août
Lundi Ouvert de 12h30 à 18h30
Mardi Ouvert de 12h30 à 18h30
Mercredi Ouvert de 12h30 à 18h30
Jeudi Ouvert de 12h30 à 18h30
Vendredi Ouvert de 12h30 à 18h30
Samedi Ouvert de 12h30 à 18h30
Dimanche Ouvert de 12h30 à 18h30
Du 01 Septembre au 30 Septembre
Lundi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Mardi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Mercredi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Jeudi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Vendredi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Samedi Ouvert de 14h à 18h
Dimanche Ouvert de 14h à 18h

Tarifs

Type Tarif
Tarif de base - Adulte Plein tarif 10 €
Tarif enfant 8 €
Tarif de base - Adulte Plein tarif : 10.00 € Tarif enfant : 8.00 €

Moyens de paiement

  • Carte bleue
  • Cartes de paiement
  • Chèques bancaires et postaux
  • Chèques Vacances
  • Espèces
  • Paiement sans contact
  • Visa

Prestations

Équipements

  • Parking familles
  • Jeux extérieurs
Voir plus

Services

  • Boutique
Voir plus