A true work of art
With a rustic appearance in harmony with the surrounding farms, the Chapel of Saint-Vigor-de-Mieux already existed at the end of the 13th century. Revamped in the 15th century by Guillaume de Vanembras, it underwent modifications and additions over the centuries.
Members of the Vanembras family were buried in the nave until 1737; some plaques are still visible. The chapel, which was falling into ruins, was closed to the public in 1983. during a first visit in 1987, the Japanese artist Kyoji Takubo was seduced by the site and decided to turn it into a work of art . Work began in 1992, with the help of numerous French and Japanese sponsors.
The frame was first restored, then the cover, then came the creation of the roof; to the old tiles were added glass tiles in the colors of the rainbow. The floor was made of "corten" steel, the walls were covered with sheets of lead on which the artist applied many layers of paint of different colors, finally, he drew on the last layer (white) branches of apple trees and he engraved with a tool of his own design to bring out the colors of the Norman apple trees through the layers of paint.

The chapel is open on request all year round for groups and individuals.
Open in summer from July 1 to Heritage Days: Tuesday to Sunday, 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.

Opening

All opening periods have passed. Please contact the owner directly for more information.

Prices

Type Price
Base rate - Full rate adult 3 €
Base rate - Full rate adult 3,50 €
Base rate - Full rate adult: € 3.00 Base rate - Full rate adult: € 3.50

Payment method

  • French bank and postal checks
  • Cash

Une véritable Œuvre d'Art
D'allure rustique en harmonie avec les fermes environnantes, la Chapelle de Saint-Vigor-de-Mieux existait déjà à la fin du 13ème siècle. Remaniée au 15ème siècle par Guillaume de Vanembras, elle subit des modifications et des adjonctions au cours des siècles.
Les membres de la famille Vanembras furent inhumés dans la nef jusqu'en 1737 ; certaines plaques sont encore visibles.La chapelle qui tombait en ruines fut fermée au public en 1983. lors d'une première visite en 1987, l'artiste japonais Kyoji Takubo fut séduit par le site et décida d'en faire une oeuvre d'art. Les travaux débutèrent en 1992, avec l'aide de nombreux sponsors français et japonais.
La charpente fut d'abord restaurée, puis la couverture, ensuite vint la création de la toiture ; aux tuiles anciennes furent ajoutées des tuiles de verre aux couleurs de l'arc en ciel. Le sol a été réalisé en acier "corten", les murs furent recouverts de feuilles de plomb sur lesquels l'artiste apposa de nombreuses couches de peinture de couleurs différentes, enfin, il dessina sur la dernière couche (blanche) des branches de pommiers et il grava avec un outil de sa conception pour faire ressortir au travers des couches de peintures les couleurs des pommiers normands.

La chapelle est ouverte sur demande toute l'année pour les groupes et les individuels.
Ouverture l'été du 1er juillet aux Journées du Patrimoine : du mardi au dimanche, de 14h à 18h

Ouverture

Toutes les périodes d'ouverture sont passées. Merci de prendre directement contact avec le propriétaire pour plus d'informations.

Tarifs

Type Tarif
Tarif de base - Adulte Plein tarif 3 €
Tarif de base - Adulte Plein tarif 3,50 €
Tarif de base - Adulte Plein tarif : 3.00 € Tarif de base - Adulte Plein tarif : 3.50 €

Moyens de paiement

  • Chèques bancaires et postaux
  • Espèces