Built in the 1987th century, the Saint-Vigor chapel was restored in XNUMX by Kyoji Takubo. This Japanese artist, seduced by the site, decided to make it a work of art while respecting its original style.

The Saint-Vigor chapel through the centuries


With a rustic appearance in harmony with the surrounding farms, the Saint-Vigor Chapel already existed at the end of the 1737th century. Revamped in the 1983th century by Guillaume de Vanembras, it underwent modifications and additions over the centuries. Members of the Vanembras family were buried in the nave until XNUMX; some plates are still visible. Gradually falling into ruins, the chapel was closed to the public in XNUMX.

The restoration of the chapel by Kyoji Takubo

During a first visit in 1987, the Japanese artist Kyoji Takubo was seduced by the site and decided to make it a work of art. Work began in 1992, with the help of numerous French and Japanese sponsors.
The frame was first restored, then the cover, then came the creation of the roof; to the old tiles were added glass tiles in the colors of the rainbow. The floor was made of “corten” steel, the walls were covered with sheets of lead on which the artist applied many layers of paint in different colours. And finally, he drew on the last layer (white) branches of apple trees and he engraved with a tool of his design to bring out through the layers of paint the colors of the Norman apple trees. We owe to these works the nickname of the chapel:

« the apple tree chapel »

Opening time

DatesDuration:
From July 1 to September 18Tuesday to Sunday from 14 a.m. to 18 p.m.
Out of seasonPossibility of opening on request from the Tourist Office

Prices

Type Price
Basic price – Adult Full price 3 €
Basic price – Adult Full price 3,50 €

Come to the chapel

Saint-Vigor chapel
Place called Saint Vigor better
14700 SAINT-MARTIN-DE-BETTER

+02 31 90 17

Calculate my route

The nuggets of Falaise – Suisse Normande

Érigée au XVe siècle, la chapelle Saint-Vigor fut restaurée en 1987 par Kyoji Takubo. Cet artiste japonais, séduit par le site, décide d’en faire une œuvre d’art tout en respectant son style d’origine.

La chapelle Saint-Vigor à travers les siècles


D’allure rustique en harmonie avec les fermes environnantes, la Chapelle Saint-Vigor existait déjà à la fin du XIIIème siècle. Remaniée au XVème siècle par Guillaume de Vanembras, elle subit des modifications et des adjonctions au cours des siècles. Les membres de la famille Vanembras furent inhumés dans la nef jusqu’en 1737 ; certaines plaques sont encore visibles. Tombant peu à peu en ruines, la chapelle fut fermée au public en 1983.

La restauration de la chapelle par Kyoji Takubo

Lors d’une première visite en 1987, l’artiste japonais Kyoji Takubo fut séduit par le site et décida d’en faire une œuvre d’art. Les travaux débutèrent en 1992, avec l’aide de nombreux sponsors français et japonais.
La charpente fut d’abord restaurée, puis la couverture, ensuite vint la création de la toiture ; aux tuiles anciennes furent ajoutées des tuiles de verre aux couleurs de l’arc en ciel. Le sol a été réalisé en acier “corten”, les murs furent recouverts de feuilles de plomb sur lesquels l’artiste apposa de nombreuses couches de peinture de couleurs différentes. Et enfin, il dessina sur la dernière couche (blanche) des branches de pommiers et il grava avec un outil de sa conception pour faire ressortir au travers des couches de peintures les couleurs des pommiers normands. On doit d’ailleurs à ces œuvres le surnom de la chapelle :

« la chapelle aux Pommiers »

Horaires d’ouverture

DatesHoraires
Du 1er juillet au 18 septembreDu mardi au dimanche de 14h à 18h
Hors-saisonPossibilité d’ouverture su demande auprès de l’Office de Tourisme

Tarifs

Type Tarif
Tarif de base – Adulte Plein tarif 3 €
Tarif de base – Adulte Plein tarif 3,50 €

Venir à la chapelle

Fermé

Chapelle Saint-Vigor
14700 SAINT-MARTIN-DE-MIEUX

02 31 90 17 26

Calculer mon itinéraire