The Falaise Memorial: the only museum entirely dedicated to the fate of civilians

Before the opening of the Mémorial de Falaise – La Guerre des Civils in 2016, the fate of civilians was sometimes evoked in places of memory. But until now, a museum had never chosen to devote itself entirely to the daily lives of populations in times of armed conflict.

What is the daily life of populations in times of war? How do we live under the Occupation, the bombardments, the exodus? So many subjects on which one wonders when one is interested in the life of civilians in times of war.

An unmissable site in Normandy

Specially designed for families, the routes of the Mémorial de Falaise – La Guerre des Civils, spread over three floors, immerse you in the daily life of families in times of war.

Through the 1000m2 of exhibition, you will discover the moving testimonies of survivors as well as a collection of everyday objects and unpublished archives from the collections of the Caen Memorial and residents of Falaise Country.

Civilians and the Occupation

The first part of the visit is devoted to the period of Occupation in Normandy. It evokes in particular the daily life of the French, the repression of the Norman Resistance, the persecution of the Jewish populations or the exodus.

Civilians and Liberation

The visit continues with the space dedicated to the Liberation. It tells of the hell of the Allied bombings that destroyed many Norman towns. A final part also addresses the issue of Reconstruction, which promises to be long and complicated.

The Civil War: the immersive film

The visit also includes an exceptional immersive film shown at the very spot where the remains of a dwelling destroyed by the bombings of the summer of 1944 were discovered. Edited from English, German and French archive images, the projection plunges the spectator into the heart of the hell of the bombings of the Second World War.

Opening time

DatesSchedules
From 9 February to 8 MayEvery day from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and from 13:30 p.m. to 17:30 p.m.
From May 9 to July 8Wednesday to Sunday from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and from 13:30 p.m. to 17:30 p.m.
From July 9 to August 28Every day from 10h to 18h
From August 29 to October 23 Wednesday to Sunday from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and from 13:30 p.m. to 17:30 p.m.
From October 24 to November 6 Every day from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and from 13:30 p.m. to 17:30 p.m.

Prices

Type Price
Basic price – Adult Full price 7,50 €
Reduced price 6,50 €

to get there

Closed

The Falaise Memorial – The Civil War
William the Conqueror Square
14700 FALAISE

+ 02 31 06 06 45

Calculate my route

Falaise discovery pass

Visit the three unmissable sites of the birthplace of William the Conqueror thanks to the Falaise Discovery Pass, on sale exclusively at the Tourist Office for the single price of €49!

Pass découverte de Falaise

Le Mémorial de Falaise : le seul musée entièrement dédié au sort des civils

Avant l’ouverture du Mémorial de Falaise – La Guerre des Civils en 2016, le sort des civils était parfois évoqué dans les lieux de mémoire. Mais jusqu’alors, jamais un musée n’avait choisi de se consacrer intégralement au quotidien des populations en période de conflit armé.

Quel est le quotidien des populations en temps de guerre ? Comment vit-on sous l’Occupation, les bombardements, l’exode ? Tant de sujets sur lesquels on s’interroge dès lors que l’on s’intéresse à la vie des civils en temps de guerre.

Un site incontournable en Normandie

Spécialement conçus pour les familles, les parcours du Mémorial de Falaise – La Guerre des Civils, répartis sur trois étages, vous immergent dans le quotidien des familles en temps de guerre.

À travers les 1000m2 d’exposition, vous découvrirez les témoignages émouvants de survivants ainsi qu’une collection d’objets de la vie quotidienne et des archives inédites provenant des fonds du Mémorial de Caen et des habitants du Pays de Falaise.

Les Civils et l’Occupation

La première partie de la visite est consacrée à la période d’Occupation en Normandie. On y évoque notamment la vie quotidienne des Français, la répression de la Résistance normande, la persécution des populations juives ou encore l’exode.

Les Civils et la Libération

La visite se poursuit avec l’espace dédié à la Libération. On y raconte l’enfer des bombardements alliés qui ont détruit de nombreuses villes normandes. Une dernière partie aborde d’ailleurs la question de la Reconstruction qui s’annonce longue et compliquée.

La Guerre des Civils : le film immersif

La visite intègre également un film immersif exceptionnel diffusé à l’endroit même où furent découverts les vestiges d’une habitation détruite par les bombardements de l’été 1944. Montée à partir d’images d’archives anglaises, allemandes et françaises, la projection plonge le spectateur au cœur de l’enfer des bombardements de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Horaires d’ouverture

DatesHoraires
Du 29 août au 23 octobre Du mercredi au dimanche de 10h à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 18h
Du 24 octobre au 6 novembre Tous les jours de 10h à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 18h
Du 11 au dimanche 13 novembre Le vendredi, samedi et dimanche de 10h à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 18h
Du 3 au 18 décembreLes samedis et dimanche de 10h à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 18h
Du 19 au 30 décembreDu lundi au vendredi de 10h à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 18h

Tarifs

Type Tarif
Tarif de base – Adulte Plein tarif 7,50 €
Tarif réduit 6,50 €

pour s’y rendre

Fermé

Le Mémorial de Falaise – La Guerre des Civils
Place Guillaume le Conquérant
14700 FALAISE

02 31 06 06 45

Calculer mon itinéraire

pass découverte de falaise

Visitez les trois sites incontournables de la cité natale de Guillaume le Conquérant grâce au Pass Découverte de Falaise, en vente exclusivement à l’Office de Tourisme au tarif unique de 49 € !

Pass découverte de Falaise